Go Love Yourself

I used to struggle with my body image for as long as I can remember. I’d constantly blame myself for not being “thin” enough or “tall” enough or “pretty” enough. I would wake up every morning and the first thing I’d think about is what to wear to make myself “look thinner”, to cover up my stomach and my arms. It’s crazy isn’t it? Think about it. So many of us start our days feeling bad about ourselves. Instead of telling ourselves that we’re amazing and we’re going to have a beautiful day, we stand in front of the mirror and ruthlessly critique every inch of ourselves. I remember the countless mornings I spent looking at myself in the mirror from a million different angles, scrutinising everything about me.

I find it painful that you can say such beautiful and inspiring words to all your friends, but fail to say them to yourself everyday. When was the last time you felt completely in love with yourself? When was the last time you genuinely smiled at yourself in the mirror, and fell in love with every inch of your body? Are you not your own best friend? Shouldn’t you be telling yourself how utterly beautiful you are every single day? It breaks my heart to hear the way we talk about ourselves.

I’m tired of looking at models on Instagram and comparing myself to them. I’m tired of thinking that my life would be perfect if I could just lose that extra weight, or if only my arms were thinner, or if I was a few inches taller. As if all my problems would go away with a “perfect” body. Just because you don’t look like that model or that one person in your English class, does not mean that you are not beautiful and strong and worthy of all the love in the world. I used to think that having the “perfect body,” great skin and beautiful hair would make my life perfect. But I realised that the only thing that matters is having a beautiful heart. What truly matters is the strength you have in the toughest of times. What truly matters is the way you love yourself: unapologetically and unconditionally.

Learning to fiercely love myself was one of the most challenging things I’ve ever experienced. The way you treat yourself changes your life. Trust me. The amount of love you have for yourself paves the way for not only a better relationship with yourself, but also with other people in your life. You learn to demand love and respect, because you know you deserve it. You learn to walk away when you know you deserve better.

Love yourself and I PROMISE you your life will radically transform. Make yourself a priority, be proud of yourself and know your worth.

“What if you simply devoted this year to loving yourself more?”

Leave a Reply

