To All The Hopeless Romantics Out There

I know. I know how it feels to attend a wedding and wonder when your time will come to meet that person who looks at you with all the love in the world. I know how it feels to spot a stranger on the subway and fall in love with how they stare into the distance, the colour of their eyes, their strong gaze and the way they brush their hair out of their face. I know how it feels to want to initiate conversations with people on an airplane, because who knows? You might be sitting next to your soulmate.

I know how it feels to look at that special someone and wonder if they will end up being the person you spend the rest of your life with. I know how much it hurts when you give someone so much love, only to be told that you love “too much”, feel “too much” and care “too much”. I know how it feels to dream about cute scenarios in your head, only to be disappointed if nothing turns out like you had imagined.

I understand your old-fashioned ideals about being in love: romantic dinner dates, long walks on the beach, shy goodnight kisses, cute handwritten notes and endless conversations over the phone at night. I understand how it feels to watch romantic comedies and wonder if all of it could actually happen in real life. Trust me, I know how it feels to want your life to be like a movie, with romantic gazes shared between you and a stranger, cute gestures of love, and constant background music to accompany every special occasion.

Do me a favour? Please never stop believing in true love okay? I KNOW it exists. It HAS to. I believe with all my heart that you will find it one day. Maybe in a few years or maybe even next week. It’s an amazing feeling to have isn’t it? The feeling that you could walk out your front door on a Wednesday afternoon and your entire life could change forever. I love that.

Don’t let anything or anyone take away that hopeless romantic in you. Never stop wearing your heart on your sleeve. Never stop believing in love, fate. destiny and magic. True love exists, you just have to never lose hope that something magical can happen to you when you least expect it.

Leave a Reply

